The Malta International Photo Award (MIPA) is a photography award that aims at providing aspiring photographers from all around the globe with the chance to share their passion and world. We strive to connect the world through photography, and showcase the nature and cultures of different regions of the world to a global audience.

MIPA wants to provide international photographers with a deep insight into different approaches towards photography, and we hope to encourage people to push their personal and professional boundaries.

The ‘Malta’ element is an essential part of the conception of this international photo award. The country’s national language, Maltese, is rooted in Arabic but heavily influenced by Romance tongues. The modern people of Malta are descendent from countries in the Middle East, North Africa, the Mediterranean and Northern European. The islands’ history dates as far back as 3500 BC, bestowing them with an enormous breadth of cultural and artistic heritage. The country is an emerging cosmopolitan home to an ever growing population of expats that have travelled from all over the world to live and work there.

As such, the Malta International Photo Award wants to adopt the Maltese outlook on life – we look outside of the confines of a small island to the rest of the world, and we welcome everyone to join in.


Participants can submit their photographs by no later Friday 30th November at 3:00pm CET.

An Entry fee of €10 is required for each photograph submitted in the categories of Nature, People, Abstract and Cities.

An Entry fee of €30 is required for each series submitted in the Storytelling category.

Please remember to read our Award Rules and Terms and Conditions before submitting your photographs.


The Malta International Photo Award has a strong focus on delivering a quality jury of experts, so as to ensure that all entry participants’ work is reviewed by the right people. The Jury will be reviewing all the entries, consulting among themselves, and selecting the top 25 images or collections (for storytelling) in each category.


Photography is a craft that must be compensated accordingly, so our prizes have been tailored to reflect this.

The winners in each category will be announced after the jury review has been concluded, and they will be notified through their personal account.

A public announcement will be made through our website on the 20th December 2018.


We aim to offer a clear and transparent evaluation process for interested participants, which will be delivered by one of the expert jury members. This is important to us, as we believe that every photographer should have the opportunity to learn and grow from the work they submit.

An Evaluation fee of €10 is required for each photograph submitted in the categories of Nature, People, Abstract and Cities.

An Evaluation fee of €30 is required for each series submitted in the Storytelling category.

Each evaluation will be provided by the Chairman of the Jury, Prof. Arne Hodalič, where he will give photographers an in-depth constructive feedback about the pictures.



‘Cities’ aims at having photographers focusing on architectural elements, delving into urban lifestyles, and also looking at life on the street.


‘Nature’ is a theme that can be best explained as landscapes, wildlife, and the scientific curiosities that exist in the natural world. Themes such as agriculture, the oceans, forests, freshwater bodies, and mountains are all accepted.


‘People’ focuses on the human figure, which has long been a source of fascination and inspiration. The focus should include portraits and scenes that provide a glimpse into daily life, with a person or persons being the main subject or theme of the study.


‘Abstract’ is our experimental category. There is no concept in this theme, and photographers are invited to be non-objective and to come up with visual photographs that can evoke a deep-thought process in the viewer. All kinds of digital manipulation are allowed in this category.


‘Storytelling’ is a category that invites the photographer to submit a series of 5 images. While it is true that every photograph has its own story, sometimes one image does not do the story justice. As such, we would like photographers to tell a story through a collection of images that work harmoniously together.

Visit our Award Rules section to find out more details about the specifications to keep in mind when submitting your photographs.



The grand prize will be awarded for the top 3photos or collections (for storytelling) from each category – a total amount of €45,000.

This will be split into each of the five categories:

The winning picture receives €5,000

The runner-up receives €3,000

The third placed picture receives €1,000


The second Prize will be awarded to the top 15 photos or collections (for storytelling) from each category.

The selected pictures and collections will be exhibited at the prestigious Malta Postal Museum in Valletta, Malta, during a public exhibition in February 2019.


The third prize will be awarded to the top 25 photos or collections (for storytelling) from each category.

The selected pictures and collections will be featured in a high quality publication by the Malta International Photo Award.

In addition, all pictures selected for the above prizes will be listed on our website under the ‘Winners Gallery’, as well as international recognition for each photographer through our marketing process.


More: maltaphotoaward.com


Total Prize: €45,000