The Forge Prize recognizes innovation in use of structural and architectural steel. Established by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC), and organized by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA), the program is intended to promote excellence in structural steel as a 21st century building through a two-stage design challenge, culminating with a public announcement event of winners in June 2019.

The Challenge

Designers will propose, document, or prototype an innovative use of steel to help owners, contractors, and architects achieve enhanced performance goals. The concept can be for any type of building structure.

Stage 1

During Stage One, a jury of experts will convene to identify up to three projects that will be awarded a $10,000 stipend to continue into Stage Two to then test, develop, or prototype the innovation. To the extent possible, AISC will pair the three projects with a steel manufacturer or contractor to help continue the design and work out further design details or create a prototype.

Stage 2

Stage Two contestants will prepare a final submission and present to the jury in May of 2019. The contestants and jurors will participate in a public event, where each of the three finalists will present their designs, and the jury will announce the winner they selected and provide critical commentary on all three submissions.

Jurors: Joseph Burns, FAIA, Thornton Thomasetti
Terri Meyer Boake, University of Waterloo


The Forge Prize is open to designers practicing in the U.S. or Canada. Entries will be accepted for individual as well as team submissions. Team submissions are required to have a designated Team Lead. Individuals or the Team Lead should be an emerging professional, in the process of licensure or within 10-years of licensure.


• Price Announced Summer 2018
• Registration Opens September 2018
• Stage One Submission Deadline January 16, 2019
• Stage Two Submission Deadline May 2019
• Final Winner Announcement & Event Summer 2019




Total Prize: $ 20,000.00